Support Letter

Hello friend!

This letter is intended to inform you of my plans this summer as well as to ask you to partner with me on this journey God has led me to.

Over the last couple of years God has been pulling my heart more and more towards the world of missions. I have always had a heart and passion for those who are hurting and those who are on the outside. On July 1st I will have the amazing opportunity to spend 6 weeks in Accra, Ghana.

Accra is the capital city of Ghana and stretches along the western coast of Ghana. With a population of about 4 million people, Accra is the hub and center of business in Ghana. I will be volunteering for a church in Accra. As of right now I know I will get the opportunity to help the church in a variety of Children’s Ministry roles, help the Sunday school workers to develop a curriculum and participate in some of their worship ministry. There likely will be many other opportunities and areas where I will be able to serve while I am there. I am told that the greatest needs in the church are for deep and authentic bible studies as well as for the training of leaders for the youth and children’s ministries. I am hoping to be able to help out with some of these things.

I am being sent through my church, Hope for Life, and an organization called SIM (Serving In Mission). SIM’s mission is to glorify God by planting, strengthening, and partnering with churches around the world as they evangelize the unreached, minister to human need, disciple believers into churches, and equip churches to fulfill Christ’s commission. From May 6-8th I had the opportunity to participate in a training orientation at the SIM Canada office in Toronto, Ontario and was extremely inspired, encouraged and uplifted by the team of missionaries there.

What can you do?
Well, first and foremost you can pray with and for me and the people I am going to meet. Please pray that:

I would adjust quickly to the climate and culture changes and that I would remain in good health for the duration of my time in Ghana.
I would be open to whatever God wants to teach me through this experience and that I would trust Him fully to use me any way He chooses.
God would be preparing my heart and the hearts of those people I meet, and that his will would be done in every situation.
Another way that you can help is to donate financially to my trip. I need to raise a total of $6,500, which seems like a lot to me right now but I do believe God is faithful and will provide. If you feel that God is calling you to support me in this way, please write cheques to: Hope for Life Christian Fellowship and please ensure that you write “Short Term Mission Fund” on the memo line so that the church can ensure that you receive a tax receipt. I should also mention that any funds that I raise over and above what I need for this trip will be designated to other projects that are funded through Hope for Life.

I can’t begin to tell you how richly God has blessed me in my 27 short years. I believe that He is faithful and will do amazing things in me and hopefully through me during my time in Ghana, which will continue long after I am gone. I am excited to partner with you in this amazing opportunity to obey and serve. I want to thank you in advance for your prayer and financial support and will keep you as updated as I can while I am serving in Ghana. I will be making blog updates as much as possible while I am away and you can find that at:
https://letthedustneversettle.wordpress.com

“How, then, can they call on the one they have not believed in? And how can they believe in the one of whom they have not heard? And how can they hear without someone preaching to them?” Romans 10:14

In Christ our risen Lord and Savior,

Carrie Lynn Johnstone

** If mailing cheques, please mail to:

432 Cedarille Cres SW.
Calgary, AB
T2W 2H7

Please include the address where you would like your tax receipt to be sent with your donation.

Leave a Reply

