Expectation and Anticipation

Wow! I can’t believe I will be leaving for Ghana in less than 48 hours! It still feels surreal to me, I wake up in the mornings thinking “Really? am I going to Africa?”. Well, the answer is yes, and it is all thanks to God and His blessings through the amazing people in my life.

Over this last month I have been overwhelmed with how generous and encouraging people have been. I have raised more than 100% of the funds I needed to get to Ghana and many people have committed to praying as I prepare to leave and while I am gone. God and His people never cease to amaze and surprise me. I guess what I really want to say here is, THANK YOU!! Thank you for believing in me, for encouraging me and and for trusting in God’s plan for my life and your lives. I truly have felt the peace and the presence of God throughout this whole journey, and I really feel like this road is the road I was meant to travel.

I know that there may be times in Ghana where things will be hard. I know I will see and experience things that I am not ready for. I know God will stretch and challenge me to get out of my own way, out of my comfort zone and to see the world through different eyes, through His eyes. I am expecting God to do amazing things in my heart, and I pray He can touch at least one life through my presence in Ghana.

Tomorrow I will leave this amazing city I call home at 6:25pm. It feels weird to be leaving Calgary after the week we have just had, but I am truly honored to call this place home and know 6 weeks will fly by. I will arrive in Ghana at 6:50pm on July 3rd, 12:50pm Calgary time. It is definitely going to be a long day. I ask for your prayers for endurance and courage as I have never traveled this far or long by myself before.

I will meet someone at the airport in Accra that will take me to the SIM guest house. From there anything can happen! I know I will be working with a wonderful lady named Sherri Paulson and we will largely working with the children of Accra as well as in the children’s ministry area of the church. I am so excited to meet these beautiful children and just spend time getting to know them! I may also get to opportunity to participate in some worship ministry which I’m sure will be quite a different experience than the worship ministry in our conservative churches here in Canada.

Prayer Requests

– Please pray for successful travel (connecting flights and on time flights)

– Please pray for quick and easy adjustment to Ghana time and heat

– Please pray for God to prepare the hearts of all those I will meet and my own heart as well

– Please pray for a completely open mind and heart in me. That I would be open to new and different experiences from this new culture, and an open heart to all God would want to teach me and change in me.

I am told I will have internet connection and will update as often as I can. Once again, thank you from the bottom of my heart for coming along side me in this adventure! I am looking forward to sharing with you all the wonderful, challenging and life changing moments over the next 6 weeks.

“Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.”  – Ephesians 3:20-21

 Image

One thought on “Expectation and Anticipation

  1. Hi Carrie Lynn – I think I know what you are feeling now – hope that you feel all our prayers for you!! Pat

Leave a Reply

